Posted by: johnhourihan | June 28, 2012

Affordable Care Act upheld by Supreme Court


Now that the Supreme Court has upheld the Affordable Care Act, I have to say, I’m tired of the Tea Party rhetoric about what is constitutional and what is not.
Anything they don’t like, they say is unconstitutional, anything they do like, whether it is constitutional or not, is fine.
When you hear that something is unconstitutional think of this.
According to a CNN survey before the supreme court ruled in favor of the president’s health care reform, “Interestingly, 14 percent of Americans believe the Supreme Court already has struck down the Affordable Care Act, according to a new poll by the Kaiser Family Foundation. In line with other polls, most respondents (51 percent) to the Kaiser survey believe the law’s requirement that Americans purchase insurance is unconstitutional, while 28 percent felt it constitutional. By a similar margin of 53 percent to 33 percent, most respondents expect the Supreme Court to overturn the law.”
So I have to ask you to consider this.
Who do you think knows more about what is constitutional and what is unconstitutional: The Supreme Court of The United States of America or the people you meet at Wal Mart?

Responses

  1. Wow,
    I really, really, really didn’t think that it would pass.
    I’m glad it did, I am sure I’m going to need it sometime.
    Well if we can get him reelected maybe the republicans won’t dissassemble it.
    Hey, I’m one of those people at Wal Mart!

    • me too, chuck, and I don’t know better than Supreme Court judges what is constitutional.

  2. First of all I want to say excellent blog! I had a quick
    question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your mind prior to writing. I’ve had a tough time clearing my thoughts in getting my ideas out there. I do take pleasure in writing however it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are usually wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or hints? Appreciate it!

  3. I never really decide how to begin. I just choose a topic and start. I write the post from start to finish, then I go back and rewrite the beginning. Then I rewrite the post, then I check to see if the beginning gets people to want to red the rest. Then I rewrite everything, adding , subtracting , choosing better words etc.


Leave a Reply

Categories

