Posted by: johnhourihan | December 31, 2012

Don’t look back. It is over and you can’t fix it.


I find , now that I am retired,  I love snow again. Because I don’t have to drive in it with all those people you see at the gas station on the pike, and at WalMart, and at Macdonalds and worry about how they got a license and be afraid , very afraid, that they are also driving in the snow right alongside me. Instead I sit here in the woods, watch the forest fill up with snow and the birds feed in the backyard and listen to the Eagles and eat my Chinese food.

I am not going to think back on the year that has past or as the song says I might see a Dead Head sticker on a Cadillac and a little voice in my head will say you can never look back. I am satisfied with who I am. An ancient hippie who made a life doing what he loved, writing down his opinions and making everyone else read  them. I just know that for more than a year I have been living a dream in a tiny house, with tiny heating bills, and tiny electricity bills, and tiny  tax bills and no water bills, with a wife who loves watching sports on TV and eating bad food before dinner and never tells me that I am inappropriate.

Happy New year.

I am really looking forward to the good stuff that is coming.

Responses

  1. Right om!!!!!!!!!

    ________________________________


Leave a Reply

Categories

