Posted by: johnhourihan | December 8, 2013

The woods on a snowy evening


When I was young and all things rhymed
The ponds were swum and oak trees climbed;
Then as I grew the world stood still
And I had happiness at will.

Then invincible became a thought
No more a promise long since bought.
And as I face the human curse
This has become my favorite verse.

John Hourihan

Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening

Whose woods these are I think I know.
His house is in the village though;
He will not see me stopping here
To watch his woods fill up with snow.

My little horse must think it queer
To stop without a farmhouse near
Between the woods and frozen lake
The darkest evening of the year.

He gives his harness bells a shake
To ask if there is some mistake.
The only other sound’s the sweep
Of easy wind and downy flake.

The woods are lovely, dark and deep.
But I have promises to keep,
And miles to go before I sleep,
And miles to go before I sleep.

Robert Frost

Responses

  1. LOVE it!!!

  2. And a lot more writing to do. By the way- I think the politically correct phrase would be-my little horse must think it gay. Remember we can’t use some words for their true meaning now that we gave them other meanings. Like Hallmarks- now we dawn our fun apparel. Hope this helps you in the future.

    • I actually thought of that.Then dismissed it

      ________________________________


Leave a Reply

Categories

