Posted by: johnhourihan | February 3, 2016

If you are a Christian Republican please read this.


Read these things the Bible says are the words of the leader of the Christian churches, then tell me how you are a Christian and a Republican.
“But whoever has this world’s goods, and sees his brother in need, and shuts up his heart from him, how does the love of God abide in him?”
~Jesus in 1 John 3:17
“Judge not, that ye be not judged. For with what judgment ye judge, ye shall be judged: and with what measure ye mete, it shall be measured to you again.”
~Jesus in Matthew 7:1-2
“Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God.”
~Jesus in Matthew 5:9
“For I was an hungred, and ye gave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in: Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me: I was in prison, and ye came unto me. Then shall the righteous answer him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungred, and fed thee? or thirsty, and gave thee drink? When saw we thee a stranger, and took thee in? or naked, and clothed thee? Or when saw we thee sick, or in prison, and came unto thee? And the King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.”
~Jesus in Matthew 25:34-40
“When someone hits you on the cheek offer the other as well. When someone takes your coat let him have your shirt too.” – Luke 6:29
“Love your enemies. And pray for those who persecute”. Matthew 5:44
“Forgive and you will be forgiven.” – Luke 6:37

If you say you are a Christian and a Republican, tell me again how that figures.

Responses

  1. Easy. Jesus asks us as individuals to do these things NOT the government. 

    Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

    • Sue, do you really think the government is an entity without people?

  2. Remember when I questioned if there – was- a Christian in politics way back when? You mentioned — “Maybe Bernie Sanders”. This was well before he became a candidate. I wonder what it says when a Jew is more Christian like then all those ” Christians”. Sue what’s the difference between individuals and the government in a government of the people , ect. ect.?

  3. Sue-Us as individuals are the government- for the people – by the people.
    I think Jesus was talking to the government as well. They just do not listen

    Johnny again, great job


Leave a Reply

Categories

